Comet C/2020 F3 (NEOWISE) – 6 July 2020


C/2020 F3 (NEOWISE) – 6 July 2020, 3:51AM MST / 1051UT
Click for larger version.

Clouds put a really short timer on capturing comet-rise this morning. Between that and spending 10 minutes carefully maneuvering myself back out of a sketchy, unscouted road, I only managed a few shots before it ascended into the cloud field. I only had time for a very quick look and gasp through binoculars before I needed to start shooting lest I miss it before it hit the clouds. Moonlit Merriam Crater lies in the foreground for these shots. Leupp Road is shockingly busy in the 3:30AM time frame.


3:53AM MST / 1053UT
Subject C/2020 F3 (NEOWISE)
Classification Comet
Position (J2000) Auriga: [RA: 6 9.331 / Dec: 34° 49.206′ ]*
Magnitude Not estimated
Date/Time 6 JULY 2020 – 3:50-4:13 AM MST (1050-1113 UT)
Observing Loc. Leupp Road, east of Flagstaff, Arizona
Instrument 15 x 70 Oberwerk Binoculars / naked eye / Canon 6D Mark ii @ 120-220mm
Conditions Partly cloudy, twilight
Seeing Not estimated
Transparency Astronomical through nautical twilight
*References Starry Night Pro

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.